Books currently on my nightstand

I write a lot of nonfiction, so I tend to read a lot of nonfiction — and since I do a radio program on television, many of the books I read these days are ones written by my guests, in preparation for the show. Among the books currently on my nightstand are:

Pete Duel: A Biography
Best known for playing Hannibal Heyes on the 1970s Western series Alias Smith and Jones, Pete Duel was a talented but troubled young actor who took his life at the height of his celebrity. What makes this book stand apart from other Hollywood biographies is that it is an earnest psychological study of Duel’s life that also comments on the human condition. Author Paul Green will be one of the guests on my program on Tuesday, Oct. 7.

A History of Television’s The Virginian
Also written by Paul Green, this book is a comprehensive look at television’s first 90-minute Western series, The Virginian, based on the classic 1902 novel by Owen Wister.

Just a Geek
I haven’t started this yet, but from what I’ve heard about it, I’m very much looking forward to reading this candid memoir by former child star Wil Wheaton (Stand By Me, Star Trek: The Next Generation).

Ed Robertson
Freelance Entertainment Journalist
Co-Host, TV CONFIDENTIAL
Every other Tuesday at 10:30pm ET, 7:30pm PT
Share-a-Vision Radio, KSAV.org
www.tvconfidential.net
blog.tvconfidential.net
Also available as a podcast through iTunes

Leave a comment

Filed under Articles, Book Club Suggestions, Book Reviews, Entries by Ed Robertson, Literature, Nonficition, The Writing Life, Writing

Leave a Reply

