Christmas is Drawing Near

Though Christmas is nearly here, like everyone else I suppose, I’m not quite ready. There are more presents to buy and wrap. I don’t have my Christmas Eve or dinner menu decided. The Christmas tree is decorated, but our three cats are quickly undecorating it.

We attended a retirement party for our eldest daughter in a lovely house that was beautifully decorated inside and out for the holidays. More than sixty of daughter’s co-workers attended along with a few relatives. It was a great send-off. But how can I possibly be old enough to have a daughter who is retiring?

We have a dinner party to attend this evening with my critique group and their spouses. Should be fun. Since I’m having a difficulty finding time for my work in progress, I don’t mind putting off the group’s regular meetings for a couple of weeks. They probably feel the same.
Friday night is our church’s Christmas party, always a fun event.

I already received a great Christmas present. My latest Deputy Tempe Crabtree novel, Judgment Fire, is an Eppie finalist in the mystery category. I haven’t had a finalist for several years, so I’m excited. The cover of the book won an Ariana award for the best mystery cover. (The cover was designed by one of Mundania Press’s cover artists.) So I’m doubly proud.

I also heard that the next in my Rocky Bluff PD crime series will be out in January. It’s called Smell of Death. More about it after the holidays.

You can read the first chapters of both these books on my website: http://fictionforyou.com
I’m going to quote one of my Sunday School student’s sentiment, “What I want most is for everyone to have the best Christmas ever.” If Christmas isn’t what you celebrate, I wish you all the best of the holiday season with lots of good food and fellowship with family and friends.

Marilyn

Leave a comment

Filed under Book, Book Excerpts, Book Promotion

Leave a Reply

