What Takes Us Away

For those of you who were wondering, “where in the heck is she, and is she okay?” I’m back, and I apologize if I made you worry. Sometimes life happenings just pull me away from my normal routine of writing or rehabbing wild animals, and it takes a while to get back in the groove. It could have been an injury or illness or some crisis at the college that took me away, but this life happening was of the good kind, a most excellent, wonderful kind. My daughter in Texas had her first baby (a little early) and it was time to go “Grandma and All Baby” for a while, a while that seems all too short now that I’ve returned to North Carolina, 1, 395.89 miles away. Sydney Grace arrived October 6th and weighed in at 5 lbs 6 oz; a tiny thing. She was small but perfect. Although she had received an extensive newborn wardrobe during her baby shower this summer at Topsail Beach (remember reading my blog post of July 23rd “A Week in Pink?”), a quick shop for adorable preemie clothes was necessary. She has outgrown them already as she hit 7 lbs last week. Knowing I was spending quite a few weeks out of town, I naively thought I could get a smatch of writing accomplished on my next book, “The Purple Fence,” or a blog post or two in during the down time. When a baby is born, when is that? After seeing and holding Sydney, the thought of writing actually went out the window. It was the last thing I wanted to do. I was more into the feeding, burping, changing, laundry, rocking, whispering “Grandma to Sydney” messages and gazing mode at all hours of the day or night. At 4:30 am, I surprisingly look ecstatic in this picture (even with no make-up), and what’s more surprising, I actually was.
tgmasydneye.jpg

This little human animal was as unpredictable as the wildlife I rehabilitate at OWLS in Newport, however, because she has no teeth or talons, leather gloves were not required. During the very still, sleeping moments of Sydney’s day, time when I needed to let her be, I spent some energy giving much appreciated attention to the six resident dogs and cats who were more than curious about the new addition to the family. It was apparent they understood she wasn’t quite like them. The three dogs loved being brushed and running around the yard, especially if I was watching them. The cats enjoyed the brushing as well but passed on the yard activity to curl up on the window seat and mock the dogs. (I swear!) Some things take us away from our self-imposed schedules and goals, but some of what takes us away is very, very good. Things that shouldn’t be missed. Although I feel the need to get back to my writing, I want to be taken away again soon, but if that happens, now you’ll have an idea of where I might be when you notice my absence; spending time with my baby and her baby.

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!! May you all be blessed with the connection and warmth of family and friends.

Sharing and signing off with so much to be thankful for,

Linda Bergman-Althouse, author of “Save Them All

2 Comments

Filed under Articles, Blogroll, Essays, Events, The Writing Life, Writing

2 responses to “What Takes Us Away

  1. Welcome back Linda, it’s always nice to see your glowing face around. Your happiness is evident. I’m glad you had that time with your new little treasure. Keep us posted on what’s going on with the new book. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

  2. Congratulations for that happy soul, it is so beautiful and is going to be so clever…you will see.
    happy christmas

Leave a Reply

