Reading Books

Books, they are more accesible and affordable than ever before, now more and more people can have their own private libraries compared to those a century ago. To me it’s practically an addiction and I know it’s to many other people, but I wonder about today’s generation of young adults. With the powerful development of online services and the vast information they get I wonder if for some reason that might discourage them to buy books like they used to. I spend a long time online but to me personally there is nothing like holding a good book on my hands and lay on bed with it. Sometimes I take it to the porch and read as I take my morning breakfast.

I found a great book in the Good Will Bookstore not too long ago and found it helpful not only for my kids as I teach them how to go about reading a book but I believe it will be useful to any book lover. How to Read a Book by Mortimer J. Adler & Charles Van Doren. It’s the Classic Guide to Intelligent Reading. Reading is important but knowing how to read is even more important. Perhaps that’s why the kids in school are so disinterested in reading anything, they don’t know how to read good books specially classical books. I’m amazed at the kind of books the school selects now for their required reading, the quality of the reading material has declined tremendously. Where went the times when the students were pushed to increase their level of understanding?

My point here is that books like How to Read a Book are valuable tools to help anyone understand better what they read.

What is your opinion? Should we lower our standard of reading or should we provide the necessary resources to help the students understand good literature at large?

Clary Lopez, author
Simplicity – Richness of Life
http://clarylopez.com

2 Comments

Filed under Book Club Suggestions, Book Reviews, Reading, Reading Group

2 responses to “Reading Books

  1. kdzugan

    We should never lower our standards. For years I have given copies of Dr. Adler’s “How to Read a Book” to nieces and nephews, grand-nieces and grand-nephews (and soon to great-grand-nieces and great-grand-nephews) as their high-school graduation present. Unfortunately schools stop teaching reading skills after the 5th or 6th grade. Dr. Adler’s book makes up for that.

    Dr. Adler has written many other cogent and useful books. To learn more visit http://www.TheGreatIdeas.org.

  2. Thank you so much for your comment and the link of this useful site. I’ll add it to my blogroll. Hope everyone takes the time to visit it.

Leave a Reply

