Don’t bother me, I’m reading

The summer is almost over. The first day of fall is just around the corner and I haven’t finished my summer reading list yet.

I’ve read a lot this season, mostly fiction but there have been a few non-fiction books in there as well. One thing I love about summer reading is there’s an excuse to avoid most other things for a ridiculous amount of time and just curl up with a good book. Most people who aren’t into reading or writing or art of any kind still understand the concept of summer reading, beach reading, vacation reading, whatever you want to call it. It’s almost a universal concept.

“What are you doing today?”
“Oh, just catching up on summer reading.”

No other excuse necessary.

Nancy O. Greene
http://www.portraits.bravehost.com
http://www.writersgroupblog.wordpress.com

2 Comments

Filed under Book, Reading

2 responses to “Don’t bother me, I’m reading

  1. Do you need a particular season to read? I read all year round but what changes is the TYPE of book. For instance, Le Carre is perfect for a gray fall day and I love reading SF in the winter time. Mysteries are spring and summer (except for Lee Child who’s a guilty pleasure I indulge twelve months of the year).
    I read non-fiction in the morning (to warm up my brain) and fiction at night, to divert me from the travails of the day.

    No, never! But in the summer, people that don’t normally read are also into books of their own, so they tend to “get it” and don’t bug all-year-long readers so much about why reading is actually FUN (not to mention important).

    Sounds like you have a good system there with your reading schedule.

  2. I’ll never finish reading the long list of books on my list mostly because I keep adding to them on a weekly basis. I visit bookstores and used bookstores and keep adding more books to my shelves. I should have about eight books on my nightstand alone. Thank God I can read more than one book at a time. I read fiction, nonfiction and memoirs. Happy reading my friends.

    http://clarylopez.com
    http://clary.wordpress.com

    Same here. I can’t ever pass by a bookstore and not buy something! I just finished another book on my reading list last night, and am working on another that I’m about halfway done with right now.

Leave a Reply

