Oops, I Forgot to Post

Oh, my goodness, I was so busy last week I forgot to write my blog. I was teaching all week from 8 to 5 in a place that’s an hour’s drive from where I live. When I got home each evening, I always had a pile of work to do and once that was done, I jumped into bed.

That’s not entirely true, as I did watch Dancing With the Stars with my daughter-in-law. We enjoy the dancing and the costumes–we even call in votes for our favorites.

I didn’t even remember about the blog until I looked at my calendar to see what was going on next week and I noticed the notation for the blog. So I’ll try to make up for it right now.

Because I’ve been so busy with classes for the residential care business, I’ve had to neglect my own personal writing–something I hate to do. I did manage to get in one critique session with my writing group, but had to skip the one this past week. I attended the Elk Grove Art Festival (a suburb of Sacramento CA) on the 31st of March. It was held in a beautiful recreation center. There was a lot going on everywhere, but the authors with their books were in the large gymnasium. I always enjoy book festivals where you can speak with people who love books.

Another task that is a side effort of being a writer that I’ve been involved in lately, is working on the Public Safety Writers Conference to be in Las Vegas, which is coming up soon, April 29 through the 22nd. I was in charge of getting the speakers. We had one back at the last moment so I had to scurry around to find another one. I’m ready for a vacation and what better way to spend it than with a bunch of writers–and in this case, I know most of these people, all writing about law enforcement in one way or another, the majority retired cops or still on the job. I’m looking forward to it.

After that, I’m hoping for some free time so I can finish the first draft of my work-in-progress.

For all you writers out there, remember to take time out to write.

Marilyn

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

