Book Review

c_1416521836.jpg

Such a pretty girl
by Laura Wiess
ISBN: 978-1-4165-2183-9

Description:

They promised Meredith nine years of safety, but only gave her three.

Her father was supposed to be locked up until Meredith turned eighteen. She thought she had time to grow up, get out, and start a new life. But Meredith is only fifteen, and today her father is coming home from prison.

My take:

I have a bad habit whenever I’m in need of something new to read. I go straight for the half off table at Barnes & Noble and judge each book by its cover until I find one that catches my eye. Then I buy it without even reading the description. I know…this is what every writer preaches not to do, but I can’t help myself. Needless to say, I’ve come home with some real surprises, this one happened to be a keeper.

This was an engrossing tale of abuse and the mental anguish that ensues. I found myself sympathizing, agonizing and cheering for young Meredith, who was stripped of every ounce of truth she ever knew, by the very people who brought her into this world and were supposed to love, nurture, protect and care for her.

Unfortunately, the scenario of pedophilia and sexual predators is all too real in this world, and while the media can cause a society to grow complacent in their reaction to such crimes, this story gives you a frightening glimpse into the lives of the victims, the perpetrator and the victims’ loved ones who have their own way of dealing with the aftermath of the crime.

My advice, don’t pick up this book unless you have the time to invest, because you won’t be able to put it down!

pink.jpg

Jill Terry
Author ׀ Poet ׀ Wordsmith Extraordinaire
Official Author Site
Wordsmith Blog
Café Muse

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

