Looking to the future and a bit from the past.

I’m a day ahead of time because tomorrow in the very early a.m. I’m leaving for the airport. Hubby and I have to get up at 2:30 a.m. in order to be at the airport in time for our 6 a.m. flight for Seattle. Sounds easier than it is. We first must drive to Bakersfield and go through security. Every liquid and paste or gel must be 2 ounces or less and in a 1 quart Baggie. Once we do that, then we wait to go aboard our little plane. From Bakersfield we fly to Sacramento where we get off the little plane, take a bus to the terminal and try to find where our next and much bigger plane will depart from. If we’re lucky, we’ll have enough time to find the place which most likely will be at the other end of the terminal. It always seems to work out that way. Once we’re in Seattle, then we must find a taxi or van that will take us to the hotel we’re staying in.

So why on earth, are we going through all this? We’re headed to Left Coast Crime, the next to the largest mystery convention which is always held somewhere near the left coast. (Though last year they held it in Bristol, England, which is on England’s left coast. I didn’t go to that one.) Mystery conventions are lots of fun if you like to read mysteries. Lots of mystery authors go, many not so well-known like me, and quite a few big name writers. And even better, there are many readers and fans of mysteries. Because I’ve attended this convention, Bouchercon (the biggest mystery convention), and several smaller cons, I’ve made lots of friends in the mystery community, readers and writers. Going to one of these events is much like attending a family reunion.

Saturday I had a booksigning at Russo’s Bookstore in Bakersfield. This is a wonderful independent bookstore. It was raining, not a lot, but may have discouraged people from coming out and only a few books were purchased. Frankly, I’ve come to realize book signings at bookstores are not as good as other venues, like book festivals, craft fairs, and giving talks at libraries, service and social groups for actually selling a lot of books.

Monday was spent deciding how many books I needed to take to Seattle in hopes that I’ll sell some while I’m there–plus packing my clothes for the four days I’ll be gone.

It’ll be a nice break from not finding enough time to work on my next Deputy Tempe Crabtree mystery because I had some writing jobs that actually bring in money, doing mundane things like housework, paying bills, and sending my latest book, Fringe Benefits, out for review.

When I get back from Seattle, I’ll give you a report about what we did and who we saw.

I did get another terrific review for Wishing Makes It So which I just have to share.

REVIEW
In “Wishing Makes It So,” Author Marilyn Meredith pulls no punches. A well-written psychological thriller, “Wishing Makes It So” goes beyond mere horror, although it could be termed such, and may be Meredith’s finest offering yet.

Steven and Alyse Chrestman adopt a young girl, Belinda, believing that their experience as parents and Steven’s work as counselor will allow them to be a deciding factor in Belinda’s life. Far from the lovable and innocent child she appears, however, Belinda is capable of terrible deeds, especially carried out on other children. Will the Chrestmans realize the true nature of their new ward before she manages to manipulate the entire family into destroying itself?

Marilyn Meredith takes the sweetness of youth and skillfully creates a dark character that may well keep you up at night. Recommended. Four stars!
–Craig Hart, Christian Fiction Online

Marilyn
http://fictionforyou.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Promotion Experiences, Book Reviews, The Writing Life

Leave a Reply

