Are Readers Following Book Trailers?

Book trailers are popping up everywhere and with this new technology at our fingertips I just wonder if readers are following book trailers? How effective is the medium to connect to book lovers? I know I’ve seen a few and wanted to buy one of the books I saw but I failed to write down the website address and now I can even find the book trailer again.

We had a great display of book trailers here a few days ago, check them out if you didn’t see it.

I would love to hear from readers if this is something useful for authors to utilize in their promotions. To me personally, I don’t like to see the faces of the characters on the promotions, it spoils the excitement to create them in my mind as I read the book. What is your take on this? There are people who go through great lengths to make it look like a movie when in reality I’ve been disappointed more than once when a book is made into a movie.

I prefer a slideshow with captions and background music, I think it goes right with what readers are attracted to. I even thought of Power Point presentations because if offers the viewer the opportunity to click on links and be taken to the author’s page.

You can see the slideshow I made for my book here.

To tell you the truth I don’t know where all of this is going, but I hope we find a way to connect with our audience and impress them with our presentation.

Author’s mind wants to know, could you share your thoughts?

1 Comment

Filed under Articles, Book Promotion Experiences, Reading

One response to “Are Readers Following Book Trailers?

  1. http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=heLJWbdDtQY

    Gray Collar Crimes is a contemporary crime thriller set in the world of identity theft, bank fraud, and high finance money laundering. How does an inexperienced mortgage broker pull off the biggest white collar crime in the history of American finance and walk away? The answer is really quite simple…by accident!

Leave a Reply

