Promotion and Confusion

First I’ll talk about confusion, however it’s connected to promotion. Because I do a lot of promotion on many different sites, I couldn’t remember how to get into this one to do a blog on the day I was supposed to do it. After pestereing Clary with emails begging for directions, with her help, I finally figured out how easy it was–so here I am.

The last couple of days I’ve been fooling around with book trailers. No, I didn’t create any myself, but had three done for me. Take a look and see what you think:

The first is for the latest in my Deputy Tempe Crabtree series, Calling the Dead.

The characters don’t look like I see them in my head, but I think the whole effect is catchy.

The second is for my psychological horror, Wishing Makes It So.

The third is for a book that is coming soon, called Fringe Benefits, the third in the Rocky Bluff P.D. series.

Now, what I’m wondering is if any of these book trailers will result in people purchasing my books.

A change of discussion here. I have a loyal fan base for my Deputy Tempe Crabtree series which doesn’t have much on-scene violence and the language is quite tame. My latest in the Rocky Bluff series, Fringe Benefits, is much darker, with more violence and language. I hope I can find other fans out there who will like this book, especially since it’s coming from a new publisher, Tigress Press.

Going back to confusion, being a writer is confusing at times. I’m about half-way through my next Tempe novel and because I have to keep pausing to do other chores, not just promotion but I have other writing jobs that bring in money, sometimes I have to go back and read what I’ve written just to remember where I’m going. Some of this may be due to the fact that I’m growing old. Back when I first started writing, I could be babysitting a houseful of grandkids and still concentrate on what I was working on.

Now I’ve probably got anyone who took the time to write this totally confused so it’s time I got back to my work at hand.

Marilyn

2 Comments

Filed under Book, Book Club Suggestions, Book Promotion Experiences, Fiction, The Writing Life

2 responses to “Promotion and Confusion

  1. Marilyn, The book trailers are “on-spot” (totally enjoyable and intriguing) and the YouTube exposure massive, very forward thinking. I’ve heard YouTube gets millions of hits a day, so I’m curious about the effectiveness of this route as a marketing tool. Thanks for sharing your ideas. You’ve inspired me.
    Linda Bergman-Althouse

  2. Pingback: Book Trailers - The Jury is Out « Insight for Authors

Leave a Reply

